Chapter 5 Störenfriede German Ork Army Terrain Terrain Terrain… Oh and a cool motorbike conversion!

image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image imageSorry it’s been a while but I’ve been busy building, converting and painting. Also been away with work.

I discovered recently that I love making terrain, especially buildings and especially doing the “basing” the ground stuff haha. It’s fun! Even my little girl had a go and enjoyed it. I don’t know if I’m doing it correctly but I basically bought bags of stones, sand and flock, mixed it altogether, spread PVA everywhere then sprinkled and dabbed down my sandy stony flock mix. Worked a treat. I built the buildings out of recycled cardboard. Love the fact you can create a corrugated iron look by peeling off a layer of the cardboard and painting it to look rusted. Thanks YouTube for that!

I created bullet holes with a biro.  The crates were some I bought for a Rorkes Drift Diorama I never got around to starting haha. They work well. The rocks in one of the terrain pieces are just clay that I moulded to shape painted and added some flock for a moss effect. I was particularly happy with the very shanty look shelter. The upright posts are just bulsa wood painted with a Badab Black wash. I quite like the blood spatter too haha. The terrain with the crashed plane was fun to make. The plane is actually a WW1  German Fokker Bi-Plane. If you look close in one of the pix you will see “Da Rote Baron” on the side of the plane. This is German for The Red Baron. I like the strewn parts of the plane all over the ground and I think the plane does look aged. Although technically its over 39000 years old haha. My only regret with this piece is that it doesn’t look like a Bi-Plane. I should have only collapsed one side of the wings. I do like the Ork Banner. I did consider doing something more “German” (not a swatsztika) but I think it looks good.

The terrain was simple and fairly quick to build. I have more to do, well I don’t have to do more really I just like it and the more the merrier.

Now onto the bike conversion. It was a Space Marine Attack Bike but I really wanted an Ork warbike with side car or pillion. I boxed in the gunner with cut up bits of wing from the Fokker aeroplane model. The heads I used were from Spellcrow and work well. I really like the gunners “pilot” head. I kept the torso and legs of the space marines as it would have been too hard to cut them out. I added Ork heads and arms. The arms were fiddly because I had to cut the hands off first to get the positioning right. I wasn’t 100% happy at first but then I did some trimming and the paint hides the bits I didn’t like hehe. You can’t tell from the pix but the Space Marines hands are actually still on the handlebar grips with the Ork hands over the top of them. On the back of the gunners seat I glued on a riot shield I had in my bitz box. This will give the gunner a bit more protection etc.  i also kept a space marine head and glued it to the top of the handlebars like a trophy! I am really happy with this model and the colour scheme ties in with the other vehicles I’ve done. There are some pix of a looted Leman Russ Tank too with a German Ork commander hanging out the top with an axe haha. “Drive closer, I want to hit them with my axe!”

Also in the pix are some converted Ork Boyz that are now low ranking German Ork troops. Grunts!

hope you like the pix.

5 thoughts on “Chapter 5 Störenfriede German Ork Army Terrain Terrain Terrain… Oh and a cool motorbike conversion!”

      1. Haha I actually live not far from the geographic center of the USA. But I have been known to travel a little farther to get a good deal 😆

        Thank you all the same. I’ve been working on my list of terrain supplies to pick up at the hardware store and hobby store this weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

