Chaos Lord Hezrions Warband – Brotherhood of disorder part 2

At the end of last year I made a start on a Chaos Warband I lovingly decided to call The Brotherhood of Disorder. For a run down on the project see part one here…

https://imperialrebelork.wordpress.com/2015/12/15/chaos-lord-hezrions-war-band-brotherhood-of-disorder-part-1/

I haven’t been back to it until now and have base coated 8 more commanders and thought I’d share some pix. I’ve also base coated a Champion. no converting with him, just a great looking model.

Once finished I will include fluff and force organisation etc.

8 of 9 commanders are pictured below. KazGor is the 9th commander who can be found here.

https://imperialrebelork.wordpress.com/2015/10/17/kazgor-my-chaos-champion-and-1st-company-commander-completed/

 

imageimage

 

imageimage

 

image

image

 

imageimage

 

imageimage

 

imageimage

 

imageimage

 

imageimage

 

…and the Champion…

 

image

14 thoughts on “Chaos Lord Hezrions Warband – Brotherhood of disorder part 2”

  1. Brotherhood of Disorder? Good name mate! Nice work on those models as well, I like how there’s a few that still show their legion of origin very obviously (the blood angel and dark angel in particular) whilst still being distinctly chaotic. It helps cement the idea that these were once proud astartes – which makes their current nature even more terrible (in my opinion).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Wudugast! I deliberated over the name for some time. I wanted it to sound “Chaos-esque” haha but without sounding cheesy. This particular Warband has only fallen from grace in the last decade so some remnants of their old ways still linger. I’m still wondering wha colour scheme to do them. I quite like your muted pale and rusted tones and feel inspired to do something similar. On the other hand I think blood red or rusted black armour would be cool. Any thoughts?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I’m a big fan of muted white as you know but the other two can stand out a lot more and be more eye-catching on the table. Red tends to read as Khorne, although if it’s slightly more muted it can work nicely for unaligned chaos forces (e.g. Word Bearers). Black, of course, will make people think of the Black Legion, but then they’re one of the best legions anyway (don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!) It depends if you’re happy with people making that comparison, it certainly makes sense for a group of newly fallen marines to pledge themselves to Abaddon if they want to get ahead in the Great Eye 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Seeing how good they look in black and white photographies, I’m tempted to suggest the rusted black armour. But how are you going to make it work if the members of the war-band are coming from different space marine chapters? Anyway, so far so great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They are properly frightening, great job, man! I like the guy holding the horned helmet and swinging his mace- terrific use of that model. Can’t wait to see them painted, they will look even more cruel and diabolical I’m sure 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These guys look great! I was thinking of doing a ‘lost and the damned’ style chapter of space marines using all my various left over bits, and seeing how good these guys look has put it firmly on the to do list. For the paint scheme I would second the rust idea, but maybe go OTT rust and battle damage – make them look truly ancient and forever lost to the dark si- er I mean chaos gods!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If you are still undecided on what colours to use wait a while. I think it was Tyranids that I laboured the longest on what colours to paint them. I was on a backcountry hike for a few days and was looking at the combinations nature had to offer. When I came home I thought of a pairing completely different. I find that the heart needs to match the mind. You want to be excited and feel good about the choice.

    Oh yeah, test a model first too. I tried a colour combination on a different army and what looked good on a soccer jersey was terrible on a model.

    Here’s an idea. If your warband is being represented by different factions or chapters, why not do it Deathwatch style? They have the same armour but one of the shoulder pads is a remnant of where they came from.

    I look forward to seeing the progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks man. Some great food for thought there. I often look at colour combinations from my environment too. I’m really liking the ancient rusted look and I think the fluff will help cover why their armour is a mix. Eg picking up and scavenging shoulder pads or gauntlets from dead marines. Thanks again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

