Slowly, very slowly, getting better with patience.

I can be very patient when it comes to a lot of things. Ie. People, Family, work etc but when it comes to the beloved hobby I, in the past, tended to rush a bit. There’s a lot to be said about taking your time and adding details etc. Don’t get me wrong, I think a coat, a wash and dry brush can look incredible, especially en masse but over the last twelve months, since Lord Julius Fendrake and Retinue actually, I find I take my time a lot more.

Take for instance my most recent post. Two Brothers.

I paid special attention to the armour. Even though it’s quite plain and done in a grey tone it actually has a base coat of turquoise. I wanted it to have a blue-ish hue. I also used leadbelcher to show scuffing on the edges of the armour here and there. I think it turned out quite well. I guess the trick is not to over do it. Those two approaches mixed with careful layering of Nuln Oil really helped me achieve the look I was going for. See below.

Patience really is a virtue.

img_1433

21 thoughts on “Slowly, very slowly, getting better with patience.”

    1. Thanks man. I think the edging was just enough to give it a “worn” look without making it look too damaged. My favourite thing is the blue base coat though. It’s remarkable how it helped the grey turn out the way it has. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

    1. Thank you sir! Usually, on a good run, I can crack out a painted mini in an hour or so. This pair took a total of, approximately, 4 hours in total. I made sure I looked over every millimetre of the mini instead of just blobbing paint on.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Spot on mate, a little bit of patience goes a long way for these character pieces, and the extra effort really shows – as my esteemed colleague Mr. Warbruton says, this is some of your best yet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

