Lord Pestilence Complete – March of the Flies part 6.

I was hoping to get a lot more painting done today than I did but I’m still happy with what I achieved. I finished base coating and added several dry brushes to the whole gang then I went hell for leather on Lord Pestilence.

IMG_3325

I’m really quite pleased with how he’s turned out. I wanted him to look mouldy and rusty and rotten. One thing I think I could have improved on is more goop or Nurgle rot on the horse. He looks a bit clean compared to his rider.

IMG_3319

The rusted bells give him a nice “off ya bloody rocker” kind of vibe.

IMG_3320

 

IMG_3321

 

IMG_3322

It’s actually the first horse I’ve ever painted and I wanted it to white or light to contrast the dark greens of the armour etc.

IMG_3323

IMG_3325

IMG_3326

IMG_3327

IMG_3328

IMG_3329

I added a little blood to the two large pustules on his lower back. Make it look even more vile.

IMG_3330

IMG_3332

IMG_3333

IMG_3334

IMG_3335

I think Nurgle is fast becoming my favourite things to paint. So much fun. My approach was fairly simple. Blob on a whole bunch of colours then wash then detail then dry brush.

Let me know what you think? 😊

Cheers

IRO

35 thoughts on “Lord Pestilence Complete – March of the Flies part 6.”

  1. “I looked, and behold, an ashen horse; and he who sat on it had the name Death”
    – Revelations.

    You’ve really done a lovely job on him mate, both in the conversion and the painting. The contrast between the pale horse and the filthy armour and tormented fleshy bulk of the lord really makes the whole piece stand out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a man goin round takin names and he decides who to free and who to blame – Johnny Cash – When a man comes around. First heard it in the opening scenes of Dawn of the Dead (2004). Brilliant song. It has the revelations quote at the beginning of the song. Thanks Wudu, I’m glad you like him. I was considering another colour other than the typical green but when it’s not broken…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sweet work! Any chance we’ll be seeing Lord War, Lord Death and Lord Famine as well? Not that I’m trying to trick you into another side project…but I am, obviously.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah boi! Only for today though – off to the USofA in the morning. No painting for 2 more weeks, but at least I’ll have interwebs so I can keep up with you crazy kids πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

