Keeping a record part 3

Just over 41 million vinyl records were sold in 2022, to the tune of $1.2bn (£.99bn). Only 33 million CDs were sold, amounting to $483m. This was the first time since 1987 that this has happened. Believe it or not physical copies of music continue to outsell digital downloads which definitely surprised me when I read about it. 

So why? Why has vinyl come back with such a vengeance? 

According to vinylrevival.com.au one reason is that handling something tangible makes us feel more present with the music. From taking it out of the sleeve to dropping the needle. I reckon there’s some truth in that. 

I also think, as a species, many of us naturally like to accumulate things. For example I live in a house with a wife and two daughters but for some crazy reason we have at least 30 odd ceramic mugs in the cupboard. Now you might say, “hey IRO you prick what about guests who might like a cuppa”? To that I say, I’ve never had 20 odd guests at once and if I did that’d be a party and I wouldn’t be serving tea I’d be serving bottles of beer and glasses of wine. 

My point is we seem to want things around us. Some things we need and and other things we just like to have like indoor plants, candles, instruments, statuettes and even miniature soldiers. 

A lot of us hang onto things for sentimental reasons too. This is an interesting one to me because I don’t think I’m overly sentimental. My wife still has her wedding dress but I didn’t keep my suit for example but I’ve got my grandads pipe, my mums bracelet and a few other bits and bobs from the kids etc. Generally though I don’t like hanging on to stuff just for the sake of it. 

As I spent the first twenty years of my life without internet and downloading etc and then the second 20 odd years with all the modern technologies at my disposal it’s left me in a juxtaposition of sorts. I partly want to de-clutter my life but now I love the idea of having a vinyl collection. Always caught in the middle somewhere of being minimalist and being a collector. 

I’d pretty much put money down that a lot of the vinyl, these days, are being bought by people in my age bracket, roughly. Maybe people 35 and up who still remember tangible music before the digital age really kicked off. I think, just like me, people would be scouring eBay looking for vinyl, or rummaging through display boxes at bricks and mortar record shops on the hunt for their preferred music. People in my demographic may have a bit more disposable cash too so they can afford the occasional vinyl splurge here and there. I also think hipsters would be buying vinyl because it’s cool, unique-ish and yep very “hipster”. I’m generalising, obviously, but also speculating. 

Oh hang on, that’s me (kinda. Got the turntable) haha.

Whatever the reason, I think it’s super cool that there’s been such a resurgence in vinyl records. The anarchist in me, the anti-technology guy, the rage against the machine punk (the machine being streaming and apps bla bla bla), the grumpy old man haha is absolutely waving the flag for tangible music. 

Just for the record, and to prove a point here, I made this meme. See what I mean?

One other really good reason to buy a vinyl record is that the musician, the artist, gets more coin than he/she does from a download. If we want great music to be put out by great musicians we need to pay for the privilege and for me that’s a very small price to pay to keep music alive. 

Cheers

IRO 

29 thoughts on “Keeping a record part 3”

  1. I think your wife’s going to read this and think “So! He hasn’t got his wedding day suit any more! Right! Where’s me chainsaw?” I’m assuming you have “his” and “hers” chainsaws of course! 🙂 On a more serious note, I like having my CDs to get out and play rather than downloads.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Some interesting points Luke, for me I prefer to listen to what I want to, so having a physical CD or vinyl record, I’ve never done a digital download for music, and don’t listen to the radio, as I’m lucky if they play one song I like in an hour ! LOL I feel the same about streaming services, as they don’t keep the films or programmes so if I want to watch them again I then have to go searching for it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Commercial Radio suuuuucks! I stopped listening to that many years ago. My dad was always annoyed at the golden oldies station because they’d play the same five or six Rolling Stones and Beatles songs etc and wouldn’t touch the huge repertoire those and other bands had. If there was a streaming service where I could type in any movie I wanted then I wouldn’t own any dvds but alas that’s not the case.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. If I could return to the 70s and my teens I’d be off like a shot. I can’t think of much my kids did or had that I would have preferred other than the quality on today’s miniatures. Of course that’s not possible and neither can I get my vinyl back and that’s why I’m increasingly becoming a grumpy old bastard! 😠

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha. One thing I don’t like is when my wifi or apps don’t connect to the telly and I can’t watch a movie. Never had that problem with normal tv, videos or dvds. Shit just doesn’t work like it should these days.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Music is very collectable and vinyl gives people a chance to partake in that. Digital music really doesn’t scratch that itch or provide the same satisfaction in terms of collecting. I feel that way about video games. I’d really rather have a physical copy instead of a digital one for similar reasons.

    And just to get you in more trouble, toss some of those mugs out and replace them with records I say! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yeah I’d be the same with video games too I reckon although I do like my old school console thing that has 1500 old school games on it like space invaders, Pac-Man, golden axe, street fighter and alien storm on it. If I do that my wife might just Chuck me out.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yea, its surprising that vinyl outsold downloads…except when I think about it. Most kids seem to care little for music (and with todays music, who can blame them?!). They can easily listen to any song they want for free through the internet. I was buying songs digitally, but now I find streaming services more to my liking as I can quickly queue up some ‘90s playlist’ with no work on my part. Granted I’ll get tired of that after awhile, because they are only
    going to play the top songs but I can also tell it to play a whole album if I like. But streaming services result in less digital download sales too. Also to your point, hipsters have gotten older. The ones I knew are in there 30s or 40s now, which means they probably have more money for vinyl and overpriced old furniture to furnish their pad, haha! Seriously though, hipsters did keep some of that old stuff alive when it might have fallen out of orbit with the whole digital wave. I don’t think I’ll ever go vinyl, but I’ll also probably keep some of my old cds until I kick the bucket. Just because I probably won’t be able to find them anywhere. I’ve already noticed that with movies that aren’t available through streaming anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think part of what is good about vinyl is the slower pace of things, being less frenetic, just putting on a record and letting it play out (and not wandering around listening to airpods, just lying back and listening to the whole thing); brings it back to an aesthetic experience like live music…perhaps, just some random thoughts.
    Also good the artist gets more dollars–worth it perhaps to support artists you really like and want to support.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very good point man. When you go to the effort of putting it on I guess listening is the reward. I can’t wait to sit in my chair and just slow down and listen over a scotch or two. Maybe one day I’ll even smoke a pipe haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Long time listener, first time caller! I’m a hobbyist and vinyl enthusiast as well, it’s really nice to see you post about it. I’ve always been into electronic and synthesised music and vinyl has always featured strongly with those genres. I am still a terrible DJ though!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey mate I never thought vinyl would come back!! when we left the city I gave this young guy around 75 records as I never played them and they took up a lot of room, well I was amazed when he called and told me how excited and grateful he was, took a while to get him of the line! HA HA !

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Fi just messaged me saying you and Wazz were back on the podcast 🤔maybe she is confused, messing around on Tinder has certainly messed with her brain having only country yokels on hand 😳😅😅😅

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment