Large Terrain Board Project – WIP part 6

Work continues on my monstrosity of a terrain project and I am loving every single moment of it.

Before I get into the WIP though I want to tell you about one of the best days of work I’ve had for 2024 so far. I am a gardener and I am lucky enough to run my own, humble, little business. Not only do I get to work outside all day and be my own boss but I also have the pleasure of helping those that need my help the most with their gardens. People with special needs, mental health issues and the elderly. Honestly, helping people who really need it is very rewarding to me. One client I’ve had for a couple of years is a chap who has always been a little quiet. A pleasant enough man but, more often than not, I don’t see him as he tends to stay indoors and keep to himself. However today he came out and was asking me about some paving that he’d like done. As we were chatting I noticed something recognisable but somewhat out of place leaning against his shed. It was also upside down so, in mid conversation with my client, I tilted my head and asked, “Is that a shield?” My client chuckled and said, “It certainly is, it’s an old one I’m going to be getting rid of.” He then went on to explain that, a few years ago, he was heavily involved in medieval battle reenactments and I was so excited I think I almost weed my pants haha. I enthusiastically bombarded the poor fella with questions but he happily answered each of them. He told me about one on one tournament matches and pitched battles with up to 150 participants per side. My mind was blown. He also told me they once built a fort out of wooden pallets. Another time they held a great feast and had two pigs on spits and drank beer from horns. AMAZING! I asked him if he’d considered selling the shield and he said, “Mate, just have it, it’s yours now.” I happily and vigorously shook his hand in thanks. He told me that his armour and weaponry and of course the shield were Norman and I couldn’t be happier.

Here’s me just outside the gate of my clients place eager to get a photo and send it to friends and family haha.

I was clearly so eager that I forgot I was still wearing my ear protection. Not quite 11th century attire I’m sure haha.

I plan on cleaning off the rust on the metal edging, refreshing the black and also adding some red heraldry in the shape of a Red Dragon. In the pic below you’ll see some actual battle damage from the reenactments. My customer said that it’s like paintball. Full contact (albeit with blunt weapons) but you can certainly get bruised. COOL!

Real leather strapping for the handle and you can’t tell from the pic but the whole shield is curved. My client explained that he achieved this by steaming the wood and clamping it around a barrel. So, you see, a great bloody day. It also gave me a chance to build rapport with my client so that hopefully, from now on, he will come out and say hello more often.

Ok, onto the progress.

First up I bought some foam board to add some cobblestone roads. I used a pencil to do all the indentations and even though it was monotonous and time consuming I quite enjoyed the process.

Then it was onto more timber (coffee stirrer) work. I want the whole board to be a bit of a mix of mud and timber floors and walls.

I still have a lot more timber work to do but I thought I’d start adding some grout to the aluminium foil, I glued down the other day, for texture. (I’m sort of half making things up as I go along guys).

To give you an idea on the size of the trenches here’s a praetorian guardsman patrolling one of them.

Cheers

IRO

25 thoughts on “Large Terrain Board Project – WIP part 6”

  1. What an awesome rapport you had with your customer, and excellent shield as well. I f you weren’t so far away I’d get you to do my garden, but I can’t imagine much work being done as we chatted about everything else ! LOL
    Excellent progress on the boards, and always a good idea to vary things up from time to time as well, so one thing doesn’t become monotonous ! LOL

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I had a good chortle on reading “I’m sort of half making things up as I go along guys”! 🙂 I’m sure I’d never have guessed if you hadn’t’a said it! 😉 I don’t think anyone wings it better than you! Coming along nicely! The shields great!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Enjoyed the story of the shield, I can imagine how you felt almost jumping with joy. I’m really enjoying the progress on your Terrain, so much patience and imagination. Looking forward to the end result of the shield. Xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great story and such a nice find. I hope you two continue to bond after this. I imagine he has some more good stories. I dig (get it!!) the process on the trenches/board. Lots of work, but it will pay off in the end. 😃

    Liked by 2 people

  5. That is quite the find, mate and the picture of you posing with it, is priceless! The trenches are really coming together now too. Will there be any mud puddles on this board? I always think those look really cool and really drive home how bad the battlefield conditions are but then again, you might be envisioning something a little too dry for that.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. The boardis looking awesome mate. Love the details – I got something from a friend made of a huge chunk of foam years ago and did the same using icy pole sticks so it’s very rewarding to see you doing it here bigger and better.

    Love the story and the shield as well. I used to know a few people involved in the reenactment group the SCA many years ago. I went along several times to their “practise events” out in a footy oval park in RIchmond or Malvern or somewhere like that and got to get dressed up in armour and use a bow with stopped arrows as a “light” (light infantry, from memory). It was great fun at the time, though I doubt that my poor knees could cope with that sort fo thing these days! 😀

    Noiw we have something else to look forward to seeing!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment