Swarm part 5… reckon you might like this part of the project so far 👍🏼

Hello blog buddies, what’s occurring?

Sadly, I’ve found myself distracted by a new project and will be giving up on the Tyranid Swarm Army

3B7F8606-D7BE-485F-83FF-B917B9E84F3D

Nahhhhh just jokes guys, I’m loving this project and I’m determined as all hell to stick to my challenge of getting this project done and dusted by the end of 2019.

Ok now, it might surprise you but I like my Aliens big, scary, dark and a big Giger-ish…

EG. I love this!

E9E74F16-BA81-42A5-ABAF-450FD0EB014D

and not so much this

32E1236D-439C-42CE-B236-C00B7F835B0A

Today I have a BEAST of a miniature to show you which is the first to be painted for my Genestealer/Tyranid army.

I call him ALGERNON The SwarmLord (Algernon, the name, comes from Algernon Blackwood who wrote the short story “The Egyptian Hornet” in 1915).

D93A32EE-3D84-43C5-A3D9-D35A702E813E7106C5F3-1A9D-4064-8474-C508B7EE8719EDD91548-4CB4-45C5-B2E9-45457A443B67F2011E66-CD5C-45F9-B140-68101D5D26F25FB35985-C91B-4E82-9E75-03343B05BE9C

The only converting I did was adding the wings. You can make him with wings from the kit but then you lose a pair of claws or arms. I decided I wanted him to have the whole kit and kaboodle. So, technically he has six arms. (Two pincer claw arms, two sword wielding arms and two winged arms).

He’s a big yin (Scottish for big one).

677D324C-4555-4B83-9D3E-146CD6D3FBC703C4E3A5-270E-47A7-A609-2454F26EF40EE00C74EB-D9FF-4A23-BE78-9B8DEAF4A0278EEEF542-EB08-4295-B4C5-F95D1F717E2207BE97CC-F7B3-4B62-B96E-510F57AECF798823918C-8993-4FC7-BAD9-AA5E22022AC7

ALGERNON is also my submission into Azazels Jewel of July Challenge.

The Jewel of July ’19: Community Painting Challenge

I haven’t taken part in any challenge since Fembruary this year so it feels good to dip my toe in again and helped motivate me to get this monster done.

The colour scheme is a relatively simple one. I wanted the swarm to be dark shiny and menacing so Algernons colours will be across the Evolved (Full Tyranid) detachment of the army.

I really enjoyed playing playing around with purple and blue for highlights as they’re not my usual go-to colours.

Hope you like him guys like Algernon.

To help me stay focused on sticking to and completing my challenge our beloved Mr Wudugast suggested the following:

1. Get drunk on a daily basis.

2. Dress up as a giant coffee bean and wave a sign on the side of the highway that says “Great Coffee Sold Here”.

3. Leave society behind and become a Shaolin Monk.

I totally ignored all of these things but read between the lines…

Take a break from the project and paint or do something else.

I did exactly that so thanks Wudu and the result is this fine fellow.

1CF9E6E5-5E19-49EA-90C1-01191F953A5017C0B261-6D9B-467D-B85E-B9BA25124AD7541D913F-FC54-45C3-A419-2F0DB55BAD34E7E5C526-B2FA-407A-986F-872D309FB179D4940427-B442-46F1-B9AE-495AF2B41ADF

Some of you might recognise him if you’re a fan of the EVIL DEAD movies.

Thats right folks, it’s none other than Bruce Campbell… or more specifically, his character ASH from the aforementioned movie…

8B2EED9D-4796-4E6B-ACCE-19BB50E3F073

I purchased the mini from Hasslefree and wow what a sculpt. The details are lovely and crisp so I’m not sure if my painting standards really do it justice.

He came with a few options for his right hand weapon. I was tempted to go with the, iconic, chainsaw but wanted to stay with the first movie vibe more than the second or third instalments.

You’ll notice he’s wearing a red shirt with white straps too and that’s because he has joined the ranks of my Praetorian Guard Army. He’s a scout/recon kinda dude and will be, eventually, joined by other, characterful, compadres.

In the spirit of sticking to my main project here’s a bonus photo for you.

35271E99-832F-4EBB-8268-4CF64250240D

Remember, the toy factory that would eventually become the LEGO factory burned down three times. That’s determination. Never give up on what you really want to do. Tickets for my self help seminar can be purchased at hardenthefuckup.com.au 👍🏼😆😁😄😃😀

Cheers

IRO

47 thoughts on “Swarm part 5… reckon you might like this part of the project so far 👍🏼”

  1. Glad you’re shaking it up, and with work, a podcast, a blog, a family AND hobby work, you’re a busy dude. Algernon is a big boy, and your sculpting and painting certainly were impressive. Big stuff bring their own challenges, so kudos. I like the Ash figure and what you’ve done with him – the red shirt impresses with details.

    Keep on rockin’!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ash looks like just the right sort of chap to give Algernon a good Biff on the Snout. You have to be firm with these ‘Nids or the little Blighters will swarm everywhere and get into the pumpkins!

    Regards, Chris

    Liked by 2 people

  3. When you said that you were dropping this project, an audible “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” echoed across Michigan.
    Speaking of which, Bruce Campbell is a Michigan native. I met him once at a book signing (Make Love! The Bruce Campbell Way) and video screening (Man With the Screaming Brain) when I was 18. He’s pretty awesome. Also, sat in from of him at a screening of his film, My Name is Bruce, at a Michigan film festival. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh what a great story. That’s cool. He’s the best hero I’m ever in the horror genre. My all time favourite scene is in Evil Dead 2 when he’s going crazy and all the furniture is dancing and he starts bobbing up and down with the lamp hahhaha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve done a fantastic job on that Swarmlord! I actually planned to do a ‘nid army in that colour scheme long ago but never got around to it so it’s really cool to see you doing it and making such a nice job of it too.

    Cool though it would have been to see you follow my advice and become a drunken, coffee-selling Shaolin Monk I’m equally glad you’ve painted old Ash, and done such fine work on him too. Keep it up dude!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Cheers man! I’d say my ‘nid army is probably off the agenda at the moment but never say never right? For the moment I’ll just vicariously enjoy yours 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve often dreamt of doing a dwarf army, maybe someday. Completely with you on the elves though, I’ve only ever painted (very quickly and badly) a single wood elf in my entire life. Might have to paint a couple more of the pointy ears at some point just to be able to say I’ve done it.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome paintjob! The purple and teal shades complement the dark scheme really well, I think you’ve nailed the Giger/Alien look. I’m eager to see how the scheme works with smaller critters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheer MC! It should carry across the rest of the Nids quite well according to my minds eye. The Genestealer troops element will be dirty yellow and the Enlightened pysker type dudes will be wearing black with highlights of purple 👍🏼

      Like

  6. SO. MUCH. AWESOME. IN. ONE. POST!! (And yes, that statement did require all caps, so I regret nothing!) 😀
    Seriously, though. . . Algernon is pretty damn spectacular. I agree, I like my aliens Giger-esque as well. 🙂
    Also, love the Ash mini. Oddly enough, it was my grandma way back when who introduced me to the Evil Dead movies. My dad and I are both still huge fans and watched all of Ash vs. Evil Dead together. It’s like a weird fandom on that side of my family I guess. 😛
    Excellent post!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Was enjoying this very much indeed and then you go and throw in your Praetorian Guard Army scout aka Ash – magnificent! Though I reckon his sergeant might have a word or two about him turning up on parade like that… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Az. Does the big guy make the cut for jewel of July? Hehe. Selfishly I was wondering if the challenge for August could be Augmented August? Build something bigger and better than its original design or paint something cooler than its original design.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well of course he does! Augmented August? Might be a bit too specific, especially since I’ve got no chance of building anything to have my own submission(!)
        Awesome August might work, but with a name like that it’d pretty much be a rehash of Jewel of July. Unless it was for *large* models only…? Hmm….

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think Awesome works, and it also covers your request (and some shiz of my own I want to get finished). I still had Neglected Models pencilled in from before I adjusted June.
        Done!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment